×

One Sweet Dream: A Beatles Podcast Reviews

Rate us
on 9/18/2022

Top shelf: an erudite, articulate, scholarly, balanced and often humorous podcast.

on 8/30/2022 Entertaining, original and addictive

Outstanding storytelling —entertaining, insightful and exceptionally well researched. One Sweet Dream challenges the traditional narrative through its various series: the deep dives are superb, the breakup series revelatory and the interviews are astonishingly good. Prepare to be challenged, but it’s worth it! To note—it is very Lennon/ McCartney focused. Highly recommended! Ridiculously addictive.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 8/24/2022 Great podcast!

I like the opinions of the host and guests… They seem to come from a lot of reading about and listening to the Beatles… Can’t wait for Maureen Cleave’s George Harrison interview… Thanks, Keith Harden
view on Apple Podcasts

on 8/21/2022 This podcast is such a treat!

Diana is an engaging and entertaining host who wears her enormous knowledge lightly. The guests are always insightful and well-chosen. I was a “casual” fan but not anymore! One Sweet Dream rekindled my interest in all things Beatles and I can’t wait for the next episode :)
view on Apple Podcasts

on 8/9/2022 Awesome

Do not miss an episode they are great. This is one of the best pods for beatle fans. Homest and in depth. A must listen for any serious fan. Kepps getting better all the time. Bravo Diana
view on Apple Podcasts

on 7/15/2022 Great podcast

These ladies are great. For a life long Beatles fan, they offer NEW insights.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 7/15/2022

This is a great podcast. Is it that it is the ladies? I don't know but I get it about the Denim Jackets. As a life long Beatles fan who was conscious during the break up and the 70s and 80s, I really saw the myth solidify. I would love the ladies to dive into the Paul is Dead myth. Why? Because as I have been catching up on it lately, it seems the these days it is used as an "excuse" as to why Paul was "so bad" after the Beatles. The claims have gotten much more out there since the internet. I would love a deep dive on this, the urban legend at the time, and what it has morphed into and how contemporary purveyors of this myth use it to reinforce the main Beatles myth the John was everything and Paul was...a lucky look alike? I only just started but I am hooked!

on 6/17/2022

I love this podcast and so grateful for it! I have a Beatles obsession that only got stronger after the Get Back doc and this has helped me understand more about The Beatles through various perspectives! Thank you!!

on 6/1/2022 Enlightening

OSD does what it promises, and gives a modern perspective on The Beatles that goes an awful long way to moving their story in time. There's been a lot of attention given to the updating of the group's music through Giles Martin etc, but OSD (along with the Another Kind Of Mind podcast) are doing important work, modernising and evolving what Derek Taylor called, "The greatest romance of the 20th century". Thank you, OSD!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/28/2022 Amazing podcast

Very important, very relevant. Amazing podcast
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/24/2022 I loooove this podcast!!!

“I never knew” is what I keep saying…The enjoyable depth of discovery within the journey that Diana takes you on is wonderful. You go back in time through her unique perspective into the greatest band of all time. Again, I loooooove this podcast.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/18/2022 Awesome

Do not miss an episode they are great. This is one of the best pods for beatle fans. Homest and in depth. A must listen for any serious fan. Kepps getting better all the time.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/17/2022

Love this podcast A+++++. Highly recommended for any serious Beatles fan Great viewpoints that are not reflected in the lazy historical Beatles stereotypes Also all their ideas are backed up by research and evidence

on 5/1/2022 Has become my fav Beatles Podcast

My friend sent me episode of when Aimee Mann was on podcast feb 2022. Conversation was about “Get Back” from Peter Jackson. I was hooked. Michale Penn deep dive episode in April 3022 good stuff too. He is a Beatle guy for sure! Intelligent and easy listening. Knowledgeable hosts. Very well produced with music pertaining to the conversation and topics. Lots of podcasts do not do this. Thank you!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/28/2022 Such a fresh perspective

I just want to thank you for hours of enjoyment with this wonderful podcast. This fresh look at so many aspects of a story we know is much needed and most welcome. Please keep up the amazing work!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/17/2022 Can’t rate this highly enough

Finally a podcast that deep dives into the interpersonal relationship the Beatles had with each other and those close to them. Listen to this if you want to REALLY understand The Beatles
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/16/2022 Get Back Deep Dive finally

I love this podcast because the interpersonal relationships between the Beatles are discussed in a new and different way. I also love it that a deep dive of the differences between the Nagra audio tapes and Peter Jackson’s Get Back movie are also discussed in this podcast. I couldn’t find this anywhere else. Thank you!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/15/2022 Insightful and entertaining

This is an excellent podcast. Recommend it for long time Beatle fans and newer recruits! Five stars!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/14/2022 Loving this podcast

I’m a life long Beatles fan but after watching Get Back I’ve plunged into Bestlemania. This and sister podcast Another Kind of Mind provide just the kind of analysis I want to listen too - in-depth, human, engaging and funny! Thank you!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/31/2022

Diana, along with her guests, present a whole new perspective on The Beatles and their story. I believed the well trodden narrative, especially around the break up and subsequent years, but this podcast challenges the ‘accepted truths’ with info which is actually available to us all if you care to dig deep enough. And I’m glad she/they have. Superb show and into my second visit.

on 3/30/2022 At last….

Great discussions and a very welcome fresh perspective that makes so much more sense than the narrative that has dominated Beatles’ discourse for the past 50 years.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/19/2022 Best Beatles podcast going.

This deep dive into the relationship of Lennon/McCartney is required listening for serious Beatles fans. I love this show as much as John and Paul love each other!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/15/2022 Must Listen Podcast

I have listened to, studied and been mesmerized by the Beatles for over 50 years. This podcast has become an important part of my study. Wow, what a great job ladies. Can’t wait for next episode. Would love a take on some people, not usually studied, that had a hand in shaping each Beatle; early friends, later friends, teachers, family members, etc. Great, important work, thank you.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/10/2022

Best analysis of Beatles interpersonal dynamics I have ever heard
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/10/2022 Great Beatles Pod

Best analysis of Beatles interpersonal dynamics I have ever heard
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/8/2022

This is such an emotional telling of John and Paul friendship that no written drama could ever equal it. As you have said no couple or friendship can equal what is between these two. I just bought a batch of Beatle books for their "facts" but I intend to read them in light of what I learn from here. The Get Back has relit my Beatlemania, but this podcast along with AKOM has kept that flame going. I think its Paul centered but not Paul dominant when it comes to J/P. He is put back into the center of the story as an equal to John since he has been sidelined and John made the greater creative force. One thing I find fascinating is the difference between them in expressing emotions. John can say what he feels easier but Paul chokes on the words unless he sings. In Get Back Paul's head and heart seem connected but is cautious about expressing it. This podcast has helped me to understand that.

on 3/6/2022

Fresh new thinking, emotionally logical in ways I’ve never read or heard anywhere else regarding the Beatles story and the individuals as actual people.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/6/2022 Smart and insightful

Fresh new thinking, emotionally logical in ways I’ve never read or heard anywhere else regarding the Beatles story and the individuals as actual people.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/28/2022 The Best

I’ve listened to a million Beatles podcasts, but this is the ONLY one that actually understands them and gets the story right. 10/10
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/27/2022

I am immensely enjoy thing podcast series. As a very casual fan who watched Get Back and then became a not-so-casual fan, this podcast has been a blessing. I knew little to nothing about the dramatic events surrounding the break-up (I thought they just moved on to do solo work) so my little heart was shattered when I watched the documentary and found out the details after the fact. It felt like I was learning everything in reverse and out of sync, so I'm grateful to this podcast for all the well-researched information, fantastic interviews and for being all-around entertaining as I learn. And for the record, as a person who didn't know a single thing about their dynamic before watching Get Back, I never found Paul to be overbearing. He eventually came to be the one I found the most fascinating within the group. Before that, John's little sweet smile during a scene in part one was the very first hook for me buut...I was not prepared for learning about parts of 1970/1971 after that. *laughs* This is the first review I've ever written for a podcast so I hope this isn't too long. Thanks again for all your hard work Diana - I can't wait to hear more!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/27/2022 Happiness is a terrific podcast

I am immensely enjoy thing podcast series. As a very casual fan who watched Get Back and then became a not-so-casual fan, this podcast has been a blessing. I knew little to nothing about the dramatic events surrounding the break-up (I thought they just moved on to do solo work) so my little heart was shattered when I watched the documentary and found out the details after the fact. It felt like I was learning everything in reverse and out of sync, so I'm grateful to this podcast for all the well-researched information, fantastic interviews and for being all-around entertaining as I learn. And for the record, as a person who didn't know a single thing about their dynamic before watching Get Back, I never found Paul to be overbearing. He eventually came to be the one I found the most fascinating within the group. Before that, John's little sweet smile during a scene in part one was the very first hook for me buut...I was not prepared for learning about parts of 1970/1971 after that. *laughs* This is the first review I've ever written for a podcast so I hope this isn't too long. Thanks again for all your hard work Diana - I can't wait to hear more!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/26/2022

Really enjoying your shows! I’m a big Beatle and Paul fan and am enjoying the more nuanced, female viewpoint.

on 2/25/2022 Bingeing this podcast post Get Back

I’ve been bingeing this podcast post watching Get Back. I always loved the Beatles’ music, especially the songs written primarily by Paul but I’d never listened to most of McCartney’s post-Beatles catalogue. These episodes have helped me dive into Ram and other albums by pointing out what to listen for in the tracks. So far my favourite episodes are the interviews with Joshua Shenk and Aimee Mann.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/18/2022

Diana’s insight and enthusiasm wonderfully accentuates the pleasures of the new ‘Get Back’ documentary for serious fans of the Beatles. So many Beatles podcasts claim to offer a deep dive into the material. This one really delivers, with a fresh understanding of the Lennon-McCartney dynamic that shaped everything the band did. Loved the 4-part series, especially #4!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/18/2022 Want a deep dive into analysis of the Beatles?

Diana’s insight and enthusiasm wonderfully accentuates the pleasures of the new ‘Get Back’ documentary for serious fans of the Beatles. So many Beatles podcasts claim to offer a deep dive into the material. This one really delivers, with a fresh understanding of the Lennon-McCartney dynamic that shaped everything the band did. Loved the 4-part series, especially #4!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/16/2022

I love the One Sweet Dream podcast! I would love to be involved in these conversations. Such a different insight then we hear anywhere else. So good!!! Thank you for your contributions!!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/16/2022 Excellent

I love the One Sweet Dream podcast! I would love to be involved in these conversations. Such a different insight then we hear anywhere else. So good!!! Thank you for your contributions!!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/15/2022 Wonderful

A terrific show. Invaluable in many ways. A new perspective that brings the receipts to support it. Lately the guests have been fantastic. I mean, Aimee Mann? Come on!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/11/2022

It's always a special treat to throw this on while at work and makes the shift much more tolerable (even enjoyable?!). Something about it is super comforting and it's always fascinating, really informative. I can tell a lot of work was put into it. Diana is the best has a very zen presence. The guests are all wonderful and some of them are even buds of Beatles, some real good gets. I am recommending this highly!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/11/2022 My #1 pod covering my fav fab 4

It's always a special treat to throw this on while at work and makes the shift much more tolerable (even enjoyable?!). Something about it is super comforting and it's always fascinating, really informative. I can tell a lot of work was put into it. Diana is the best has a very zen presence. The guests are all wonderful and some of them are even buds of Beatles, some real good gets. I am recommending this highly!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/3/2022

I recommend anyone who finds this podcast to watch Let it be/Get Back, listen to this series and watch again. So many great insights.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/3/2022 Great companion

I recommend anyone who finds this podcast to watch Let it be/Get Back, listen to this series and watch again. So many great insights.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/3/2022

I am beyond impressed with all the thought and research that goes into each of these podcasts. As a Beatle fan who has always been obsessed with the Lennon/McCartney dynamic, as well as the confusion around the band’s breakup, these discussions are everything I have ever hoped to find! I truly appreciate the meticulous attention to timelines, and how the emotions and decision making of both men may be tied to those timelines and events. I will also say that as I listened to the first few break up episodes, I did become a little concerned about a clear bias toward Paul. However, as I listened to the final couple break up episodes, as well as the “Aftermath” episode following John’s divorce statement, I could sense that Diana truly does love John, as well as empathize with his hurt, and realize that his pain at the time was real. As the podcast continues, I would love to hear some information from the early years- how the two built their bond, and why they loved each other so deeply. In my opinion, due to John’s often cruel and angry behavior around the break up period, it can be easy to think- well, why would Paul have ever wanted to work with him anyway? Therefore, I would love to hear more about what made their bond so beautiful in the beginning- why each loved and admired the other one. I would also love to hear song by song analysis regarding the songs they likely wrote about each other in the 70s. I can never get enough Beatles/Lennon-McCartney talk!! Thank you!!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/3/2022 Beautiful and thoughtful take on Lennon/McCartney bond

I am beyond impressed with all the thought and research that goes into each of these podcasts. As a Beatle fan who has always been obsessed with the Lennon/McCartney dynamic, as well as the confusion around the band’s breakup, these discussions are everything I have ever hoped to find! I truly appreciate the meticulous attention to timelines, and how the emotions and decision making of both men may be tied to those timelines and events. I will also say that as I listened to the first few break up episodes, I did become a little concerned about a clear bias toward Paul. However, as I listened to the final couple break up episodes, as well as the “Aftermath” episode following John’s divorce statement, I could sense that Diana truly does love John, as well as empathize with his hurt, and realize that his pain at the time was real. As the podcast continues, I would love to hear some information from the early years- how the two built their bond, and why they loved each other so deeply. In my opinion, due to John’s often cruel and angry behavior around the break up period, it can be easy to think- well, why would Paul have ever wanted to work with him anyway? Therefore, I would love to hear more about what made their bond so beautiful in the beginning- why each loved and admired the other one. I would also love to hear song by song analysis regarding the songs they likely wrote about each other in the 70s. I can never get enough Beatles/Lennon-McCartney talk!! Thank you!!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/28/2022

i appreciate so much how the hosts have created a new narrative about john and paul, effectively queering their relationship and exploring the emotional background of their friendship. it makes their music come alive for me again and it gives me hope that more space can be made for these sorts of complicated relationships that do not fit into heteronormative culture. not only do i learn more about the break-up, but i learn more about relationships in general from listening to this podcast. thanks to tim heidecker for recommending this on his podcast and leading me to these two smart and funny nerd-women. keep up the good work.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/28/2022 women talking about the beatles, a revelation

i appreciate so much how the hosts have created a new narrative about john and paul, effectively queering their relationship and exploring the emotional background of their friendship. it makes their music come alive for me again and it gives me hope that more space can be made for these sorts of complicated relationships that do not fit into heteronormative culture. not only do i learn more about the break-up, but i learn more about relationships in general from listening to this podcast. thanks to tim heidecker for recommending this on his podcast and leading me to these two smart and funny nerd-women. keep up the good work.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/24/2022

Really beautifully researched, with a compelling viewpoint. And the narratives are consistently fascinating and well constructed. I’ve learned SO much by listening to this. If there’s one thing I might “ding” about the podcast, I think the interviews tend to be so militantly about the mission and perspective of the podcast that it sometimes feels like the alternatives and info offered by the guests gets a bit rushed. There are a few times where there might have been more to explore when a guest is talking about John, for example, but in the eagerness to bring the story back to Paul, we might miss out on details that might be informative on their own (to be incorporated into the larger narrative later). Minor quibble—really love this!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/24/2022 Great Take

Really beautifully researched, with a compelling viewpoint. And the narratives are consistently fascinating and well constructed. I’ve learned SO much by listening to this. If there’s one thing I might “ding” about the podcast, I think the interviews tend to be so militantly about the mission and perspective of the podcast that it sometimes feels like the alternatives and info offered by the guests gets a bit rushed. There are a few times where there might have been more to explore when a guest is talking about John, for example, but in the eagerness to bring the story back to Paul, we might miss out on details that might be informative on their own (to be incorporated into the larger narrative later). Minor quibble—really love this!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/21/2022

Refreshingly intelligent analysis that draws on all of the evidence.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/21/2022 Excellent

Refreshingly intelligent analysis that draws on all of the evidence.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/18/2022

How good? How insightful? I admit I did not dive in at my first notice, as I felt a great fatigue (marbled denim). Revelatory, whip-smart, critical, and alive. Like eight hours of Peter Jackson (thank you, Peter!) in each episode. I am trying to temper my enthusiasm writing this. Listen!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/18/2022 There's More Here than Meets the Eye

How good? How insightful? I admit I did not dive in at my first notice, as I felt a great fatigue (marbled denim). Revelatory, whip-smart, critical, and alive. Like eight hours of Peter Jackson (thank you, Peter!) in each episode. I am trying to temper my enthusiasm writing this. Listen!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/18/2022

Subscribed!! What a great podcast. But where is breakup series number 12…?
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/18/2022 Fave Beatles pod

Subscribed!! What a great podcast. But where is breakup series number 12…?
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/15/2022

Well researched and thoughtful. I appreciate that Diana knows what she’s talking about and is willing to push guests in real time when they begin to regurgitate old misinformation. She approaches the topics with care and precision and I really enjoy the guests that are on. I would love an episode (or series?!) on the 6 months post divorce meeting pre Paul press release and some more context for what Paul was thinking (or not thinking?) when he ultimately broke the news of the Beatles dissolution.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/15/2022 I Cant’ Get Enough

Well researched and thoughtful. I appreciate that Diana knows what she’s talking about and is willing to push guests in real time when they begin to regurgitate old misinformation. She approaches the topics with care and precision and I really enjoy the guests that are on. I would love an episode (or series?!) on the 6 months post divorce meeting pre Paul press release and some more context for what Paul was thinking (or not thinking?) when he ultimately broke the news of the Beatles dissolution.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/12/2022

I can’t get enough of this podcast. If you want to get a look into what was really going on inside the Beatles, particularly in the lead up to and including the breakup, this is your podcast. The hosts logically break down the events, put them into context, and really help paint a picture of the motivations of John and Paul through the lens of their relationship as the Beatles began to fall apart.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/12/2022 Most accurate deconstruction of Beatles breakup

I can’t get enough of this podcast. If you want to get a look into what was really going on inside the Beatles, particularly in the lead up to and including the breakup, this is your podcast. The hosts logically break down the events, put them into context, and really help paint a picture of the motivations of John and Paul through the lens of their relationship as the Beatles began to fall apart.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/8/2022 Love this podcast!

I’ve learned so much about the Beatles from this podcast and being able to see them from different perspectives. There’s always an interesting insight around the corner.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/6/2022

It’s so refreshing to hear a Beatles perspective from a female, emotionally intelligent point of view. They are using the individual Beatles own words and actions to fight back against the established narrative. Refreshing and informative.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/6/2022 Snippy

It’s so refreshing to hear a Beatles perspective from a female, emotionally intelligent point of view. They are using the individual Beatles own words and actions to fight back against the established narrative. Refreshing and informative.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/1/2022

The Breakup series is such a refreshing take on the divorce. Moving, insightful and hilarious.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 1/1/2022 Just Brilliant!

The Breakup series is such a refreshing take on the divorce. Moving, insightful and hilarious.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 12/19/2021

Outstanding storytelling —wildly entertaining, insanely insightful and exceptionally well researched. One Sweet Dream continually challenges the traditional narrative through its various series: the deep dives are superb, the breakup series revelatory and the interviews are astonishingly good. Prepare to be challenged, but it’s worth it! To note—it is very Lennon/ McCartney focused. Highly recommended! Ridiculously addictive.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 12/19/2021 Wildly entertaining and brilliantly original

Outstanding storytelling —wildly entertaining, insanely insightful and exceptionally well researched. One Sweet Dream continually challenges the traditional narrative through its various series: the deep dives are superb, the breakup series revelatory and the interviews are astonishingly good. Prepare to be challenged, but it’s worth it! To note—it is very Lennon/ McCartney focused. Highly recommended! Ridiculously addictive.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 12/17/2021

Diana is brilliant!!! Every episode is a home run. No other podcast compares. Her insight, research and ability to tell a story is extraordinary — and each episode is astonishingly entertaining. Duncan Driver is always a lovely addition as well. By far the best Beatles podcast — I love every episode. Spellbinding! Wonderful job! Keep it up.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 12/17/2021 No Other Beatles Podcast Even Comes Close!

Diana is brilliant!!! Every episode is a home run. No other podcast compares. Her insight, research and ability to tell a story is extraordinary — and each episode is astonishingly entertaining. Duncan Driver is always a lovely addition as well. By far the best Beatles podcast — I love every episode. Spellbinding! Wonderful job! Keep it up.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 12/5/2021

Perfect next place to go after watching Get Back. I was totally taken in by the original breakup story but I was dead wrong. So happy I found One Sweet Dream. I’m learning so much about The Beatles, not just the breakup. That’s just what brought me here, but I have so much more to learn and this is the place. These girls rock!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 12/5/2021 Love

Perfect next place to go after watching Get Back. I was totally taken in by the original breakup story but I was dead wrong. So happy I found One Sweet Dream. I’m learning so much about The Beatles, not just the breakup. That’s just what brought me here, but I have so much more to learn and this is the place. These girls rock!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/30/2021

A very enjoyable and well done podcast. But it needs to have more about George and Ringo. It will be especially interesting to hear about George’s relationship with Paul going through the years.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/30/2021 Needs more about George and Ringo

A very enjoyable and well done podcast. But it needs to have more about George and Ringo. It will be especially interesting to hear about George’s relationship with Paul going through the years.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/28/2021

Insightful, but with a clear Paul bias.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/28/2021 All Paul

Insightful, but with a clear Paul bias.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/22/2021

I, I,I,I, dig a Paulie! Thank you so much for this brilliant podcast! It’s perfect.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/22/2021 All together now

I, I,I,I, dig a Paulie! Thank you so much for this brilliant podcast! It’s perfect.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/7/2021

This is one of the best shows/series about the Beatles ever. The deep dive into the Lennon and McCartney relationship is so informative and their take so original it really does make you question everything that’s come before. The only downside is the constant praise of McCartney as the only Beatle that matters. George is mostly ignored, although that is changing, and Lennon often serves as a punchline. While I appreciate someone finally giving Paul is due, I'm not sure every Lennon fan deserves to be placed into the “jean jacket” category. Some fans just prefer his songs. For the record, you can love Lennon without trashing McCartney. This team could release an amazing book. Their POV and breakup timeline is so thought-out it deserves to be enjoyed by more fans and scholars. These two ladies are smart, informative, fun to listen to, and possibly the final word on the legendary band, the Lennon and McCartney partnership, and the break-up that didn’t have to happen. Thank you for your hard work.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/7/2021 So good. So addictive

This is one of the best shows/series about the Beatles ever. The deep dive into the Lennon and McCartney relationship is so informative and their take so original it really does make you question everything that’s come before. The only downside is the constant praise of McCartney as the only Beatle that matters. George is mostly ignored, although that is changing, and Lennon often serves as a punchline. While I appreciate someone finally giving Paul is due, I'm not sure every Lennon fan deserves to be placed into the “jean jacket” category. Some fans just prefer his songs. For the record, you can love Lennon without trashing McCartney. This team could release an amazing book. Their POV and breakup timeline is so thought-out it deserves to be enjoyed by more fans and scholars. These two ladies are smart, informative, fun to listen to, and possibly the final word on the legendary band, the Lennon and McCartney partnership, and the break-up that didn’t have to happen. Thank you for your hard work.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/5/2021 Fab!

A stellar look into the heights and depths of Lennon and McCartney’s relationship. The analysis, humour and sympathy given the subject is amazing and I feel this podcast, along with a few others, is breaking ground on new insights and ones that have been hiding in plain sight all this time. More than deserved of course if you share the view that The Beatles are beyond compare! Please keep the shows coming! Thank you!!!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/1/2021 One of my favorites podcasts

After more than 40 years of hearing one side of the story, I was so excited to find this refreshing podcast that rebalances the McCartney-Lennon partnership. And one so erudite and entertaining too! I anxiously await every new episode. Thank you!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/1/2021

Diana Erickson bravely challenges the story we've been told ad nauseam for decades. I thought I knew everything I could know about the breakup of The Beatles and the sad demise of the Lennon/McCartney partnership; 'One Sweet Dream' changes everything! If you're ready to examine the facts in a whole new perspective, this show will make your head spin.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 11/1/2021 The Beatles story turned on it's head!

Diana Erickson bravely challenges the story we've been told ad nauseam for decades. I thought I knew everything I could know about the breakup of The Beatles and the sad demise of the Lennon/McCartney partnership; 'One Sweet Dream' changes everything! If you're ready to examine the facts in a whole new perspective, this show will make your head spin.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 10/30/2021 Sensitive and spellbinding

A necessary—and often hilarious—corrective to the Jean Jackets’ Lennon hagiography which for so long has ignored facts and context.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 10/25/2021 Epic

A deep dive into the emotions and motivations of the Beatles and the actions they took. Cynthia Lennon had noted a biographer had gotten the facts right but had not uncovered the emotional truth. One Sweet Dream aims to uncover that emotional truth
view on Apple Podcasts

on 10/25/2021 Everything you’ve been told is wrong

Diana Erickson (along with her contributors) is adding a fresh new voice to the world of Beatle commentary. This podcast follow the path from the quote from Cynthia Lennon that Beatle historians get the facts right, but the emotions wrong. Conventional wisdom that has been rolled pith for the last 46 years is flawed, and Diana and crew are making a case for a new paradigm. Is it Paulcentric? Unlike other podcasters Paul is actually being treated as an important figure . Pointing out his genius and the little (and big) slanders that have perpetrated by the ‘cool’ music press is right in the pocket. The best hamburgers are made from holy cows. This podcast is a gourmet feast.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 10/25/2021 One Sweet Dream

This is easily the best podcast on the Beatles. The episodes provide a deep understanding of what the Beatles were going thru, thinking, saying and singing while they were making the best music in pop history. While I knew all the dates and facts, I now realize I was missing the human side of the story, especially surrounding the complex break up. Thank you for this podcast from a now 64 year old fan who is getting to see my favorite band anew. Keep up the great work! Dan
view on Apple Podcasts

on 10/25/2021 Game changer

This is hands down the best Beatles podcast going around. An absolute game changer. Diana is brilliant, and her reframing of the Beatles story is what has been missing from the narrative for 50 years.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 10/25/2021 A remarkable podcast

With the glut of Beatles podcasts out there, and almost all of them hosted by middle aged men who’ve read the same books, like the same classic rock bands, have the same life experiences, etc. it was a relief for THIS middle aged man to find a podcast that offers a fresh perspective on a subject that can get a little tired in someone else’s hands. Diana is a thoughtful host who does her homework and is open minded without venturing into nutty territory. There’s no question that a Beatlemaniac will find much to love here but more importantly they may have those established opinions challenged. Highly recommended.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 10/25/2021 The Beatles podcast that adds depth !

The early episodes on the break up of the Beatles are meticulously researched to give a day by day reinterpretation of the break up. Even if you are a Beatles fan who thinks they have heard it all, you will hear new insights here to make you rethink.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 10/25/2021 The Best Beatles podcast

I found this podcast last year and it quickly became my favorite. If you think there isn’t anything new to learn about the Beatles, please just listen to one of the episodes here. You will learn something new, or at the very least, a new perspective. Emotional intelligence being added to the Beatles story is the angle that has been missing for way too long.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 10/24/2021 One sweet podcast

This podcast offers a fresh perspective on old truths that should’ve been questioned decades ago. Diana Erickson looks at facts and events in a very thorough and intelligent way combined with a warm and smart personality. 5 stars is a given.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 9/4/2021 A needed, albeit unbalanced take

One of the better Beatles podcasts. The hosts provide an important and different perspective on the break-up. They make the occasional factual gaffe, but their skills at inter-personal interpretation are fantastic. Like most Beatles media, Lennon and McCartney are overemphasized. It’s not just Starr that is the invisible man, but Harrison too. If you asked the hosts to name the Beatles, presumably they would answer Paul, John, Paul and Paul.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 7/25/2021 Awesome

Do not miss an episode they are great. Can’t wait for season 2 This is one of the best pods for beatle fans. Homest and in depth. A must listen for any serious fan
view on Apple Podcasts

on 7/16/2021 Essential listening

The most significant Beatles scholarship of the last 25 years is the "Breakup Series", now presented on the One Sweet Dream podcast. Am I excluding "Tune In"? Maybe not.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 7/14/2021 Podcast With A Different Perspective

I have been enjoying this podcast. It’s clear the hosts are very knowledgeable on the subject of the Beatles. What makes this podcast most interesting and sets it apart from most others is they challenge long accepted narratives of the group, particularly as it pertains to the Lennon/McCartney partnership. They are very specific in giving examples of how certain “tropes” are inaccurate, and in fact oftentimes the opposite of the standing narrative. The reason I have given this review 4 stars instead of 5 is because in an effort to defend McCartney’s point of view, they sometimes go overboard and display bias in favor of Paul. One example of this is when they discuss McCartney’s purchasing of additional shares of Northern Songs. Not only do they not assign any blame for this to Paul, they actually criticize John for being angry about the matter. I do agree that the narrative of the Lennon/McCartney partnership deserves to be challenged and that there seems to be a bias in favor of Lennon by most authors and Beatles scholars, but bias in the opposite direction equally distorts the truth. Overall this is an excellent podcast and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone who wants a deep dive into the Lennon/McCartney partnership and is open-minded enough to hear a different point of view.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 7/6/2021 Reviews Criticism of this podcast and another kind of mind

Some are fair and some aren’t. “The podcast is paul centered” is kinda true. They spend more time and energy on him, probably because they feel he’s under explored and under appreciated in some aspects (which is true). But this is a beatles podcast and some listeners aren’t here for that much of that, would be better if they mentioned it’s more about paul. “They’re making paul what john used to be” Not true. I don’t see that, I cannot think of its examples. Thing is they defend paul a lot ,and you’re listening to podcast, probably laying on ground not attacking Mccartney and it’s weird. Very different to what Philip Norman was doing, they’re not harming other beatles to make their point. And they absolutely didn’t take side in beatles break up so feel safe to listen to it, it’s an interesting podcast and they got good points, i say it’s worth listening if you’re a beatles fan.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 7/1/2021 Genuinely new takes on Beatles history

You might think there isn’t much more to say about the Beatles, but One Sweet Dream regularly breaks new ground with psychological and emotional readings of events in Beatles history that are both surprising and very logical in light of the evidence presented for them. Diana and her guests do a great job of dismantling some of the cliched interpretations of the Beatles story that are too often repeated by writers without this kind of in-depth analysis. A much more human picture of the Beatles emerges as a result, especially Lennon and McCartney, allowing even long term fans to see the songs in a fresh light. Highly recommended!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 6/13/2021 Fantastic Podcast

At the age of 10 my first experience of the Beatles was the day John died. Help was on BBC1 that evening and I’ve been hooked ever since to the point where it’s become a bit of an unhealthy obsession and I don’t even know why? Like most Beatle fans I followed and assumed the narrative because that is all I knew and all I’ve read/heard/watched ever since. Listening to this Podcast has completely opened my eyes and made me think very differently about what I thought I knew. The presenters are incredibly well informed, knowledgable, insightful (with a bit of potty mouth which is always amusing) with an analysis that always seems to make sense which is a little irritating as it had never ever occurred to me. Listening to the ‘alternative’ point of view now makes complete sense. The podcast is an utter revelation and is a credit to all involved and long may it continue. This is my favourite Beatles podcast and long may it continue.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/18/2021 Convincing, fresh takes

I’ve read all the Beatles books and listened to every Beatles podcast. This series is well-researched and utterly convincing. Somehow they’ve pieces together mysteries of the Beatles breakup that everyone else seems to have missed. Brilliant work! Update. As I continue to listen to episodes I still find the analysis to be excellent. However they do build a lot of straw men about “what the fandom believes” and those points get a little repetitive. The work they are doing is a rare case of originality in Beatles history, so it is not necessary to continually bash Lewisohn and the other “Jean jackets”.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/16/2021 Good insights, but could use some balance of opinions

The hosts have some great observations and make some intriguing cases. I wish they brought in other opinions, however. They can be very entrenched in their views and harshly dismissive of any opinions they don’t hold — if you don’t see it our way, you’re an idiot — which I find off-putting to listen to. I wish they would challenge each other more and/or have someone on to play devil’s advocate.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/16/2021 Such groovy spaghetti!

As a Beatles fan this podcast will make you wish their breakup was even longer and more drawn out. Bingeworthy stuff. Love the back and forth between the two podcasters and their battle against the jean jackets.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/16/2021 Great look at the history of the Beatles

A fresh and thoughtful look at the story of what made the Beatles such a fascinating band.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/16/2021 Intelligent, insightful and informed.

Brilliant to hear such a serious examination of the Beatles from two commentators who are so well informed and committed to finding the truth. A delight.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/7/2021 Interesting but annoying...

Too anti-John. What is a Jean jacket and why do you say it so much?
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/5/2021 Thought Provoking and Fresh!

Diana Erickson’s One Sweet Dream is not only an incredibly entertaining Beatles podcast, but it is also amazingly well researched! Both Diana and her contributors share fresh new thinking on all things Beatles related. She reveals themes that are intriguing and puts their work and struggle into a larger cultural and psychological context that is makes the music all the more enjoyable and thought provoking.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/3/2021 An essential listen

This spin off from Another Kind of Mind is another important sledgehammer against the wall built around The Beatles by “the jean jackets”.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/2/2021 My new favorite Beatles podcast

I read many Beatles books but none of them tried to dive as deep as this podcast, regarding the super intimate relationship of Paul and John aronf the break up, And how fragile this period was for the bith of them. Kudos Diana and Phoebe for this unique perspective and details. Keep it on!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 5/1/2021 ... Came True Today!

One Sweet Dream by Diana Erickson, Phoebe Lorde, and Tanya Clark, and featuring an impressive array of guests, recorded interviews, and insight, delivers on its promise to explore the Beatles with a fresh perspective. The authors lay out a premise examining “a high stakes game of chase that spun out of control…” within the Beatles and commence their study and analysis in the early months of 1968 in the history and narrative of the Beatles and Beatles scholarship. While the authors include each member of the band, as well as important and significant members of their lives, predominantly Yoko Ono and Linda McCartney, the focus is extensively on the working partnership and relationship between Paul McCartney and John Lennon. The take on the Beatles offers a fresh and revealing revision to the interpretations and expectations of fans and scholars to engage the actions of the Beatles with psychological and emotional backing toward interpersonal and creative dynamics. The podcast is enormously entertaining and fantastically funny in its retelling and hypothetical reactions in the history of the Beatles and the Lennon-McCartney duality. Episodes incorporate extensive commentary, narrative, and recordings of interviews and conversations by the Beatles to document and illustrate the take offered within One Sweet Dream. Diana Erickson additionally interviews important biographers and scholars to examine aspects in the band told and retold countless times as the podcast further expands its quick influence upon the dream of the Beatles in our individual and collective memories. As a fellow Beatles scholar and fan since the Anthology aired in the mid-90s, I was immediately hooked by the thoughtful and detailed re-examination of the Beatles. Thank you!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/22/2021 Finally!!

While numerous books have been written about the Beatles and the breakup over the last 50-years, mostly regurgitating the same one sided story by previous books, this podcast examines the breakup period from all angles. This group of Diane, Phoebe, and Thalia discovered The Beatles as teens during the Anthology series in 1995 and became addicted to their music and history like most of us. But learning The Beatles story 25-years after the breakup, these women reviewed it with a new, younger perspective. Some of the often told tales and events that were dutifully repeated in various books by authors, who seemed more like a stenographers too lazy to do research or verify details, just didn't ring true, lacked balance, and had many gaps. One example, most books have chapters on how John losing his mother at age 17 affected his entire life and shaped his personality and character. The same books may have a single page about Paul losing his mother at age 14, and never discuss the incredible consequences this had on his formative years, personality, and character. Just a wee bit of imbalance there on the other half of the legendary Lennon/McCartney songwriting partnership. They decided to "pressure test" the many assumed facts to get closer to the truth by reviewing relevant portions of the Nagra reels from the Let it Be sessions, researching interviews and statements by the Beatles and their tight circle of confidants, and placing events in context as few other researchers have done. Each episode is a fresh perspective that I can't get enough of, and I impatiently wait for next one. They are so delightful and full of information that I often listen to an episode again (and again) a few weeks or a couple of months later. I never want this podcast (and it's sister Another Kind of Mind) to end!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/21/2021 BLOODY BRILLIANT

Bless you for outstanding thorough research and analysis. Totally rings true and resonates. FINALLY MAKING SENSE.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/20/2021 Outstanding and a must for any music fan

I’ve been blown away by the incredible research that’s gone into the story of the Beatles that this podcast tells. I’ve gained so much insight into a story I thought I already knew so much about. This podcast is a must for Beatles and music fans alike.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/17/2021 The Definitive Deep Dive Into The Beatles Breakup

A fantastic, lively and thoroughly researched exploration into how the greatest band ever found themselves breaking apart. Very entertaining discussions, and tons of great, thought provoking content that easily picks apart the old narratives. Can’t recommend enough!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/17/2021 Love Me Two

The conversational nature of this podcast not only reflects how I talk about the Beatles to my friends but it resembles my other favourite podcast, Fabcast.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/6/2021 Illuminating insights

Beatles discourse has been dominated by British/American men since before the break up and a lot of good information has come out of that but as the One Sweet Dream/AKOM team prove, including women in the discourse is crucial to getting a proper insight into why the band disintegrated and why we’re still feeling the ramifications of the break up to this day. If the conventional story has left you with more questions than answers this is your podcast!
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/5/2021 Fascinating and stimulating - breaks new ground

I’ve heard a lot of Beatles podcasts and this has reinvigorated my thinking about the band dynamics and how these affected and were affected by other people and events in the Beatles’ world. The presenters use the protagonists’ own words as often as possible, paying attention to context and recognising that every actor will have a point of view that makes sense to them at the time, rather than repeating the standard tropes (sometimes competing tropes) constructed after the break-up. One doesn’t have to listen uncritically or agree with every aspect to find that this podcast opens up new perspectives, which is incredible in a story as old and frequently repeated as that of the Beatles. I don’t think anyone has really tried before to examine the emotional dynamics of the band with this level of sensitivity and detail, and it’s fascinating. And I think it should be accessible however much you do or don’t know about the Beatles story.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/1/2021 Unusual and informative

Most Beatles books are bad, many Beatles podcasts are worse. Thankfully, this, along with sister podcast 'Another Kind of Mind' and Ireland's 'Nothing is Real', stands head and shoulders above the competition. The emphasis is on the emotional dynamics of the band, something most Beatles biographers either overlook or simply misunderstand. So well done to all involved in this excellent podcast - it's a welcome and important addition to Beatles discourse.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 4/1/2021

This is the Beatles podcast I’ve been waiting for. There’s obvious love and respect for the band and individuals, but they don’t treat the material as sacrosanct. And I LOVE that the show is by women - a much appreciated breath of fresh air in the Beatles world. In fact, everything about this show feels fresh: fresh takes, emotionally intelligent readings of the personal dynamics of the group, and a narrative that veers away from the stuffy, old interpretations of the last 50 years. I can’t recommend this show enough. I thoroughly savor each and every episode and can’t wait for more.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/26/2021

I went there, and i loved it. I went so far down the rabbit hole of the beatles breakup I needed to be airlifted back out. If you want to nourish your john and paul inner geek (and who doesnt, if only for bragging rights) this is the podcast with which to do it. The sultry voice of Diana-E, combined with her deep knowledge makes this as satisfying as high tea at The Savoy. I only wish that the role of george and ringo had been given a bit more due. I have to believe they were a bit more significant than amuses bouches at an endless banquet of john and paul.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/26/2021

Finally!! A podcast that digs deep into the dynamics and magic of John and Paul’s relationship. Brilliantly presented. I could listen to Diana’s voice all day, every day.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/19/2021 Amazing

This is a dream come true for the hard-core Beatles fan. Diana and Phoebe fearlessly tackle a big picture reframing of events that we all thought we knew so well. And then they get deep and granular with the evidence. Very insightful.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/13/2021

So enjoyable. A mature, refreshing, intelligent and considered approach to the Beatles story. Highly recommended.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/13/2021 Riveting

So enjoyable. A mature, refreshing, intelligent and considered approach to the Beatles story. Highly recommended.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/11/2021

A brilliant and original way of looking at the Beatles story, particularly the Lennon and McCartney relationship. Unmissable for anyone who loves the Beatles. Great insights and plenty laughs along the way.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/11/2021 Unmissable

A brilliant and original way of looking at the Beatles story, particularly the Lennon and McCartney relationship. Unmissable for anyone who loves the Beatles. Great insights and plenty laughs along the way.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/10/2021

This and its mothership Another Kind of Mind are wonderful podcasts. The hosts are hilarious, smart, well-informed and riff off each other brilliantly. The Beatles’ story has been almost exclusively told by men now in their sixties ans seventies, and a more nuanced and emotionally intelligent approach was long overdue. Maybe a little Paul-centric but that corrective was needed.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/10/2021 Funny, challenging, thoughtful

This and its mothership Another Kind of Mind are wonderful podcasts. The hosts are hilarious, smart, well-informed and riff off each other brilliantly. The Beatles’ story has been almost exclusively told by men now in their sixties ans seventies, and a more nuanced and emotionally intelligent approach was long overdue. Maybe a little Paul-centric but that corrective was needed.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/9/2021 Revelatory

One of my favourite podcasts. Thank you for bringing much needed alternative perspectives to The Beatles story. Simply outstanding.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/9/2021

It’s taken 50 years for someone to take a fresh look at the Beatles and their demise. This podcast digs into what the band (mostly John and Paul) were saying and doing at the time instead of buying what one of them said after the fact.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 3/7/2021

The hosts know their stuff and back up their claims with solid research, and cover topics that are left completely untouched in most Beatles history podcasts and books. Intelligent, entertaining, and at times heartbreaking. It makes me love the Beatles even more having listened to it.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/27/2021 I wanna hold your hand

This podcast is absolutely brilliant. Like a good book I couldn’t put it down - or rather stop listening. It’s thought provoking and well researched to the point that it left me feeling that I was part of the Beatles journey and that somehow I knew them intimately. And the time I spent with Diana and Phoebe was delicious. They made me think, they made laugh, they left me wiser. It is simply wonderful. Cheers
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/19/2021

Diane Erickson has her finger right on the pulse of a fresh, intelligent approach to Beatles scholarship and analysis. Her emotionally intelligent approach to the subject brings a fresh light to a familiar subject.
view on Apple Podcasts

on 2/19/2021 One of the best

Diane Erickson has her finger right on the pulse of a fresh, intelligent approach to Beatles scholarship and analysis. Her emotionally intelligent approach to the subject brings a fresh light to a familiar subject.
view on Apple Podcasts

Contact Us

×

Got a question, press inquiry or idea you'd like to share? Contact us through the form below and let us know how we can help.

Subscribe, don't miss the next episode!

×